Skip to main content
placeholder image

Mind in action (Book Review)

Journal Article


Abstract


  • The thesis that the mental must have a causal aspect, or more forcefully,

    must be defined in terms of its causal aspect, is a ruling force in

    today’s analytical philosophy of mind. It has taken root so deeply

    that in some circles, such as cognitive science, not only is it beyond

    question, it limits the imagination to the extent that it is inconceivable

    that things could be otherwise. Bede Rundle’s book is an

    extended attempt to challenge this status quo by means of a ‘grammatical

    investigation’ in the tradition of Ryle, Austin and

    Wittgenstein. In the process it covers quite a number of diverse topics

    in the philosophy of mind such as: physicalism, consciousness,

    propositional attitude ascription, animal behaviour, intending and

    desiring, action, reasoning and decision-making and ultimately issues

    concerning freewill.

Publication Date


  • 1999

Citation


  • Hutto, D. (1999). Mind in action (Book Review). Philosophical Investigations, 22 (1), 112-115.

Ro Metadata Url


  • http://ro.uow.edu.au/lhapapers/720

Number Of Pages


  • 3

Start Page


  • 112

End Page


  • 115

Volume


  • 22

Issue


  • 1

Abstract


  • The thesis that the mental must have a causal aspect, or more forcefully,

    must be defined in terms of its causal aspect, is a ruling force in

    today’s analytical philosophy of mind. It has taken root so deeply

    that in some circles, such as cognitive science, not only is it beyond

    question, it limits the imagination to the extent that it is inconceivable

    that things could be otherwise. Bede Rundle’s book is an

    extended attempt to challenge this status quo by means of a ‘grammatical

    investigation’ in the tradition of Ryle, Austin and

    Wittgenstein. In the process it covers quite a number of diverse topics

    in the philosophy of mind such as: physicalism, consciousness,

    propositional attitude ascription, animal behaviour, intending and

    desiring, action, reasoning and decision-making and ultimately issues

    concerning freewill.

Publication Date


  • 1999

Citation


  • Hutto, D. (1999). Mind in action (Book Review). Philosophical Investigations, 22 (1), 112-115.

Ro Metadata Url


  • http://ro.uow.edu.au/lhapapers/720

Number Of Pages


  • 3

Start Page


  • 112

End Page


  • 115

Volume


  • 22

Issue


  • 1